I am Not My Hair

Standard

I tell ya, Willow Smith has really brought attention to how we feel about our hair. African Americans have struggled many years with grasping the fact that our hair is not like our Caucasian counterparts. Our hair comes in many lengths, textures, and curl patterns.

We must understand that our hair does not define who we are as a person. It is just an extension of our heritage. India Arie said it several years ago in her single, I am not my hair. How appropriate that single was then and now.

I like the PSA Sesame Street has put together to help kids to accept & love their hair. You can wear it in different styles regardless love your hair!

Be proud of your African beauty…You are not your hair…

Share the following videos with your youth groups and help them to embrace their difference but love themselves.

   

 

Share

About PK

A wife, mother, sister, and aunt. I scrapbook for a hobby. I am a business woman that owns two businesses. I love to talk & meet people. God is working in my life. The mission of this blog is to strengthen marriages. Marriages are the nucleus of our communities and we must nurture and strengthen marriages in order to transform our communities.

Leave a Reply

