The Only Way is Up Book Tour

Standard

Join Sol Searching as we talk with Authoress Folake Taylor.

Folake Taylor is a board certified Internal Medicine Physician who resides in the suburbs of Atlanta GA with her husband and toddler. She was born in the United Kingdom to Nigerian born parents and was raised in both the UK and Nigeria before relocating to the United States to live the American dream. She hopes to spread a message of empowerment and reinforce family values.

 

1. Tell us about Folake Taylor?

I am a wife, a mother, an MD and now an author. I am an outpatient Internist in the suburbs of Atlanta and I love to interact with people and get involved with causes that make this world a better place to live for us all.
2. When did you decide you wanted to be an author?
I decided the day I started to write The Only Way is Up.
3. Where did you get the title?
It was from something I always say to myself when I need encouragement: “The only way is up!”
4. How did The Only Way is Up begin?
As I watched my husband and our daughter interact while on vacation, it reminded me of the relationship I had with my father and how much of who I am today can be attributed to a strong male figure in my life. It saddened me to remember how many around me do not have that nowadays. A Larry King Live special clinched the deal as they talked about women and self worth and how that may be the key to future success. I started to type on my Blackberry right there
5. Do you see writing as a career?
Yes, but presently as a secondary and not a primary as I love being an MD.
6. Who’s your favorite author and what do you love most about them and their work?
Barack Obama. His book “Dreams From My Father” changed my life. I love his confidence, his attitude to life and challenges, his resilience and his positivity.
7. How long did it take you to write this book?
It took five and a half months. The fist draft was done in one month however.
8. What’s next for Folake Taylor, the author?
I am almost done with my next book which is leaning towards ethnic chick lit. It is titled “Anonymous Gift Giver.”
9. What do you enjoy when not writing?
I love spending time with my husband and daughter as well as extended family and close friends. I love TV. I love social networking. I have friends I have never met that I feel connected to. Outdoors, I love water sports and theme parks though I have not done much of either recently.
10. Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?
My advice is to start writing. Read widely and write. Write daily. Read what you want to sound like to improve on your skills. Buy books on the art and craft of writing. Develop your unique style however as you need to sound like you at the end of the day. I pray God will bless your efforts. I never dreamt that I would be a writer or that my pet project so to speak, even before learning the industry, could receive any kind of attention or acceptance and for that I am very thankful. It can happen to you too!
Thank you for hosting me on my blog tour. I can be reached at my website http://www.theonlywayisup.net. My email address, facebook and twitter details, my blogs and everything else is on that website.

Find out more information about the author at http://www.theonlywayisup.net.

The Only Way Is Up Tour Stops

Sunday, November 7                 Character Corner Radio
Monday, November 8                 For Colored Gurls
Tuesday, November 9                Reading Has Purpose
L.O.V.E. Radio
Wednesday, November 10         Sol Searching Radio
Melissa J. Dixon
Thursday, November 11             Books on the Train
Glamazini
Friday, November 12                  Notorious Spinks Talks

Here’s the synopsis just in case you need.

This book features the author’s experiences and views on pertinent life issues as an immigrant to the United States of America. The objective is to empower women. However, the greater part of the message is of relevance to a general audience. Some of the issues that are the focus of this book are:

  • Identity
  • Health & Preventive medicine
  • Finding a mate
  • Relationships & Family
  • Single parenthood
  • Teenage pregnancies
  • Gender roles
  • Diet & Nutrition
  • Global exposure
  • Positivity & Loving yourself
  • Spirituality
  • Life outside the United States

And much more…

Link for Youtube book trailer

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HGDG1sIumko

About PK

A wife, mother, sister, and aunt. I scrapbook for a hobby. I am a business woman that owns two businesses. I love to talk & meet people. God is working in my life. The mission of this blog is to strengthen marriages. Marriages are the nucleus of our communities and we must nurture and strengthen marriages in order to transform our communities.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Only Way is Up Book Tour Stop: -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

